Your Writing Muse

With a Little Help From Our Friends

Do you have that person? You know the friend you trust implicitly; the one you share bits of your writing with. I have that person: MJ Trantham. She has appeared in these pages several times over the years. You can find her contributions in these pages: https://tinyurl.com/9j5m2kar

MJ is my crystal expert – as a practitioner, she should write her own book about the magic of crystals. She suggested I give my character Rachel Blackstone (the Rachel Blackstone Paranormal Mysteries) stones for protection in her excursions into the supernatural. Wow! It was so successful; I’ve introduced them in the Taylor Browning Cozy Mystery series too.

Photo by Sarah Brown on Unsplash

Crystals added a new dimension to my storytelling.

For years, MJ lived in the Centennial State. Regularly, I would receive stories from her about the Ute tribes in Colorado. They were so fascinating; I thought I should include more in my books about the Natives in New Mexico. They are after all intricately involved in the history of the state. What followed was more about the Hopi, Navajo and Pueblo Indians of the Land of Enchantment.

I asked her if she would read a sample chapter here and there. I’m careful not to send her portions that reveal villains and key elements of the book so she can enjoy it in its entirety later.

She was game, but expressed hesitation. She didn’t think she was an expert on writing despite the fact she is an excellent writer. What she is with certainty, however, is a good reader and she has an instinct for storytelling. Her feedback has become invaluable to me.

Photo by Yuri Efremov on Unsplash

Who do you trust enough to share your WIP?

MJ became that person to whom I give a sample here and there of my work in progress. In no time, MJ became my muse. Thank you MJ.

About G G Collins

G G COLLINS writes to keep you awake nights. Her gutsy mystery characters go where no woman has gone before. Regardless, they always get their man--or woman. And her young adult fiction reaches right in and grabs that adolescent insecurity we all remember. For excerpts, author news, writing tips, reviews and quirky Santa Fe factoids see her websites: Reluctant Medium at Large Parallel Universe at Large Contact her via her publisher.

Posted on July 16, 2023, in About, commentary, Crystals, Editorial, Friendship, Native American, Paranormal, Relationships, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Your Writing Muse.

Comments are closed.